Curiosities

Guex Monument
Image

On the Gotthard Pass one can admire the monument dedicated to the famous Swiss aviator Guex, who died for the motherland in the Alpine region of the Gotthard. The work was realized in 1928 by Fausto Agnelli.

Tremola
Image

The Tremola road, paved in granite, is considered Switzerland’s longest historical road monument. It is situated on the Southern side and connects Airolo to the Gotthard Pass through numerous curves. Visitors may take a trip by coach, as in the first half of the 19th century, along this fascinating and tortuous road. The old road is still practicable.

The Devil’s bridge (Il ponte del Diavolo)
Image

The Devil’s bridge in the Schöllenen gorges, on the Northern side, is a historical and legendary place as it was an obligatory passage for all travellers and scene of furious battles. The bridge was built between 1828 and 1830 by Swiss engineer Karl Emanuel Müller (1804-1869) and, today, one can only see the remains of the bridge’s original foundations. The new Devil’s bridge was built between 1955 and 1956. The fresco on the wall representing the devil was painted by the famous Swiss painter and poet Heinrich Danioth (1896-1953), who was native of the Orsera Valley.

The Monument to Suvorov
 

In 1799 the Devil’s bridge was scene of a furious battle in which the Russians, led by General Suvorov, defeated the French. The Monument to Suvarov, chiseled into the gorge’s rock in 1899, commemorates the dead Russian soldiers. In 2009, during a State visit, Russian President Dimitri Medvedev visited the historical place.

Curiosités

 

 

Monument Guex
Image

Au col du Saint-Gothard, on peut admirer le monument dédié au célèbre aviateur Guex, tombé pour la patrie dans la région alpine du Saint-Gothard. Il a été réalisé par Fausto Agnelli en 1928. 

Tremola
Image

Sur le versant sud, la route pavée de la Tremola, considérée comme le plus long monument routier de Suisse, conduit en lacets serrés d’Airolo au col du Saint-Gothard. C’est à bord d’une diligence de la première moitié du XIXe siècle que l’on peut découvrir ce passage tortueux qui révèle d’inoubliables panoramas. L’ancienne route au revêtement pavé peut encore être parcourue.

Le pont du Diable
Image

Le pont du Diable dans les gorges de Schöllenen, sur le versant nord, est un site historique et légendaire car il fut un passage obligé pour tous les voyageurs et le théâtre de terribles combats. Du premier pont du Diable, construit entre 1828 et 1830 par l’ingénieur du canton d’Uri Karl Emanuel Müller (1804-1869), ne restent que les fragments des fondations. L’actuel pont du Diable fut construit entre 1955 et 1956. La fresque sur les parois, représentant le diable, est due au célèbre peintre et poète Heinrich Danioth (1896-1953), natif de la vallée d’Orsera.

Le monument à Suvorov
 

En 1799, le pont du Diable fut le théâtre d’une terrible bataille entre l’armée russe, placée sous le commandement du général Suvorov, et l’armée française, sévèrement défaite. Le Monument à Suvorov, sculpté dans la roche des gorges en 1899, commémore les militaires russes tombés au combat. Lors de sa visite officielle en 2009, le président russe Dimitri Medvedev leur a rendu hommage.