How to reach the Gotthard Pass

Image

The Gotthard Pass is located on the Gotthard Strasse (Route 2) between Airolo (Canton Ticino) and Andermatt (Canton Uri), in the heart of Switzerland. At a height of  2108 m one can reach it by travelling on a smooth road, transitable between May and the end of October, with direct access from the highway or the old Tremola road on the Southern side. Both routes are windy and are therefore ideal for observing the fascinating scenery. 

 

BY CAR:

Coming from the South: Exit the A2 highway in Airolo (exit 41), direction Nufenen/Bedretto/Passo San Gottardo (750 m), travel for 1,9 km and then continue on Route 2 in direction San Gottardo (13 km) (the road might be closed during the winter period).

Coming from the North: Exit the A2 highway in Göschenen (exit 40), direction Gotthardpass/Furkapass/Oberalppass/Andermatt, take the Gotthardstrasse (750 m), turn left to stay on the Gotthardstrasse (93 m), take the second exit at the roundabout and take Route 2 (100 m), continue until the Gotthard Pass (17.2 km) (road might be closed during the winter period).

 

BY TRAIN + BUS:

Coming from the South: from the Airolo train station, take the bus until the Gotthard Pass.

Coming from the North: at the Göschenen train station, take the bus to Andermatt where you will take the bus to the Gotthard Pass.

Comment arriver?

Image

Le col du Saint-Gothard se trouve sur la Gotthardstrasse (route 2) entre Airolo (Canton du Tessin) et Andermatt (Canton d’Uri), au cœur de la Suisse, à 2 108 m d’altitude. On le rejoint par une route accessible entre mai et fin octobre, avec accès direct en autoroute ou par la vieille route de la Tremola depuis le versant sud. Les routes sont toutes deux panoramiques et de nombreux lacets dévoilent de splendides paysages. 

 

EN VOITURE:

Du sud : sortir de l’autoroute A2 à Airolo (sortie 41), direction Nufenen /Bedretto /Col du Saint-Gothard (750 m), continuer tout droit (1,9 km), poursuivre sur la route 2 direction San Gottardo (13 km) (la route peut être fermée en hiver). 

Du nord : sortir de l’autoroute A2 à Göschenen (sortie 40), direction Gotthardpass / Furkapass / Oberalppass /Andermatt, prendre la Gotthardstrasse (750 m), tourner à gauche pour rester sur la Gotthardstrasse (93 m), au rond-point prendre la deuxième sortie et emprunter la route 2 (100 m), continuer jusqu’au col du Saint-Gothard (17,2 km) (la route peut être fermée en hiver).

 

EN TRAIN + CAR POSTAL:

Du sud : à la gare d’Airolo, liaison avec le car postal jusqu’au col du Saint-Gothard.

Du nord : à la gare de Göschenen, liaison avec le car postal jusqu’à Andermatt où vous pourrez prendre le bus pour le col du Saint-Gothard.