Curiosities

Guex Monument
Image

On the Gotthard Pass one can admire the monument dedicated to the famous Swiss aviator Guex, who died for the motherland in the Alpine region of the Gotthard. The work was realized in 1928 by Fausto Agnelli.

Tremola
Image

The Tremola road, paved in granite, is considered Switzerland’s longest historical road monument. It is situated on the Southern side and connects Airolo to the Gotthard Pass through numerous curves. Visitors may take a trip by coach, as in the first half of the 19th century, along this fascinating and tortuous road. The old road is still practicable.

The Devil’s bridge (Il ponte del Diavolo)
Image

The Devil’s bridge in the Schöllenen gorges, on the Northern side, is a historical and legendary place as it was an obligatory passage for all travellers and scene of furious battles. The bridge was built between 1828 and 1830 by Swiss engineer Karl Emanuel Müller (1804-1869) and, today, one can only see the remains of the bridge’s original foundations. The new Devil’s bridge was built between 1955 and 1956. The fresco on the wall representing the devil was painted by the famous Swiss painter and poet Heinrich Danioth (1896-1953), who was native of the Orsera Valley.

The Monument to Suvorov
 

In 1799 the Devil’s bridge was scene of a furious battle in which the Russians, led by General Suvorov, defeated the French. The Monument to Suvarov, chiseled into the gorge’s rock in 1899, commemorates the dead Russian soldiers. In 2009, during a State visit, Russian President Dimitri Medvedev visited the historical place.

Sehenswürdigkeiten

Denkmal für den Flieger Guex
Image

Auf dem Gotthardpass steht ein Denkmal für den im Dienste des Vaterlandes in der Gotthardregion abgestürzte Waadtländer Flieger Guex. Die Skulptur wurde 1928 von Fausto Agnelli gefertigt.

Die Tremola
Image

Die kopfsteingepflasterte Tremolastrasse ist das längste Strassenbau-Denkmal der Schweiz. Die auf der Südflanke angelegte Serpentinstrasse verbindet Airolo mit dem Gotthardpass. Es werden Postkutschen-Fahrten, wie in der ersten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts, über diesen kurvenreichen und wildromantischen Pfad angeboten. Die alte Strasse ist immer noch befahrbar.

Die Teufelsbrücke
Image

Die auf der Nordflanke gelegene Teufelsbrücke führt über die Schöllenenschlucht und gilt als geschichtsträchtiger und legendärer Ort, wo alle Reisende gezwungenermassen passieren mussten und wo heftige Schlachten stattfanden. Von der ursprünglichen zwischen 1828 und 1830 vom Urner Ingenieur Karl Emanuel Müller (1804-1869) errichteten Teufelsbrücke sind heute nur noch Fundamentreste vorhanden. Die neue Teufelsbrücke wurde zwischen 1955 und 1956 erbaut. Das an der Felswand gemalte Teufelsbild wurde vom berühmten, aus dem Urserental stammenden Maler und Dichter Heinrich Danioth (1896-1953) geschaffen.

Das Suworow-Denkmal
 

1799 fand in der Umgebung der Teufelsbrücke eine wütende Schlacht statt. Unter dem Kommando von General Suworow besiegten die Russen die Franzosen. An die gefallenen russischen Soldaten erinnert das 1899 in den Fels gemeisselte Suworow-Denkmal in der Schlucht – ein Ort, den sogar der russische Präsident Dmitri Medwedew anlässlich seines Staatsbesuchs im Jahr 2009 besichtigte.