How to reach the Gotthard Pass

Image

The Gotthard Pass is located on the Gotthard Strasse (Route 2) between Airolo (Canton Ticino) and Andermatt (Canton Uri), in the heart of Switzerland. At a height of  2108 m one can reach it by travelling on a smooth road, transitable between May and the end of October, with direct access from the highway or the old Tremola road on the Southern side. Both routes are windy and are therefore ideal for observing the fascinating scenery. 

 

BY CAR:

Coming from the South: Exit the A2 highway in Airolo (exit 41), direction Nufenen/Bedretto/Passo San Gottardo (750 m), travel for 1,9 km and then continue on Route 2 in direction San Gottardo (13 km) (the road might be closed during the winter period).

Coming from the North: Exit the A2 highway in Göschenen (exit 40), direction Gotthardpass/Furkapass/Oberalppass/Andermatt, take the Gotthardstrasse (750 m), turn left to stay on the Gotthardstrasse (93 m), take the second exit at the roundabout and take Route 2 (100 m), continue until the Gotthard Pass (17.2 km) (road might be closed during the winter period).

 

BY TRAIN + BUS:

Coming from the South: from the Airolo train station, take the bus until the Gotthard Pass.

Coming from the North: at the Göschenen train station, take the bus to Andermatt where you will take the bus to the Gotthard Pass.

Wie erreichen Sie den Pass

Image

Der Gotthardpass befindet sich auf der Gotthardstrasse (Hauptstrasse 2) zwischen Airolo (Kanton Tessin) und Andermatt (Kanton Uri), im Herzen der Schweiz. Eine bequeme Strasse, die von Mai bis Ende Oktober befahrbar ist, führt über den direkten Autobahnanschluss oder über die alte Tremolastrasse auf der Südflanke auf 2108 m Höhe. Dank diesen beiden durch Kehren verlangsamten Panoramastrassen kann man die faszinierende Landschaft richtig geniessen. 

 

MIT DEM AUTO:
Von Süden: Verlassen Sie die Autobahn A2 in Airolo (Ausfahrt 41) in Richtung Nufenen/Bedretto/Passo San Gottardo (750 m), fahren Sie geradeaus weiter (1,9 km), auf der Hauptstrasse 2 fahren Sie in Richtung San Gottardo (13 km) weiter (die Strasse kann während den Wintermonaten geschlossen sein). 

Von Norden: Verlassen Sie die Autobahn A2 in Göschenen (Ausfahrt 40) in Richtung Gotthardpass/Furkapass/Oberalppass/Andermatt, biegen Sie auf die Gotthardstrasse ein (750 m), dann biegen Sie links ab, um auf der Gotthardstrasse zu bleiben (93 m), beim Kreisel nehmen Sie die zweite Ausfahrt und biegen auf die Hauptstrasse 2 ein (100 m), fahren Sie bis zum Gotthardpass (17.2 km) weiter (die Strasse kann während den Wintermonaten geschlossen sein).

 

MIT DEM ZUG + POSTAUTO:
Von Süden: Vom Bahnhof Airolo mit dem Postauto auf den Gotthardpass. 

Von Norden: Vom Bahnhof Göschenen mit dem Postauto bis Andermatt; von dort mit dem Bus auf den Gotthardpass.